Sunday, July 6, 2008

XP: Disable AutoReboot on Stop Errors

Stop Windows XP from automatically rebooting after a crash


XP: Disable AutoReboot on Stop Errors

Windows sometimes crash that prevents it from continuing. As a result, you are presented with a Stop Error, or more commonly known as the Blue Screen of Death (BSOD). That's the blue screen with all those technical information only useful to developers. Well, you might not see it as this flashes too quickly before your computer automatically reboots.

Although nothing useful to figure out what the problem was on the blue screen, some useful information can be obtained that can be used to figure out what happened. But how can you catch that info if Windows automatically reboots after a crash? Well, read this tip.

To disable automatic reboot on a system crash:

  1. Open the System Properties window by right-clicking My Computer and then selecting Properties on the menu. Alternatively, if you have the Windows Key on your keyboard, press Windows Button + PrntScrn to bring it up.
  2. Click on the Advanced tab
  3. Under Startup and Recovery, click on the Settings button
  4. A dialog box will open, and under System Failure, uncheck the Automatically Restart box
  5. Click OK to close the Startup and Recovery window and OK once again to close the System Properties.

Now the next time Windows presents you with a Stop Error, it will not automatically restart. At least you can write down the info that appears on the screen so you can at least have an idea of what happened.

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

XP: Log Users Off Using the Task Manager

Find out how you can log multiple users off in Windows XP using the Task Manager without logging into their accounts.


XP: Log Users Off Using the Task Manager

With Windows XP, multiple users can be logged on the same machine thanks to Fast User Switching service. I recently came across this question about logging users off the machine without logging into their accounts individual. Well, if you have an Administrator account, you can do just that. Keep in mind, though, that doing this might cause the users to lose unsaved data as Windows will force applications to close without saving.

To log users off:
  1. Start the Task Manager by right-clicking an empty space on the Task Bar and selecting Task Manager on the menu. Alternatively, press CTRL+ALT+DEL at the same time to bring it up
  2. Under the Users tab, you will find a list of all logged in users for the machine. If you don't see the Users tab, that means the Fast User Switching service is disabled.
  3. Click on the username that you want to log off, and then click Logoff
  4. When Windows asks you about the user losing all the data, click Yes
  5. Repeat step 3 as needed

There you go. No need to manually log in to users accounts and logging off from there. The Task Manager is your friend when it comes to your computer.

For the latest in Tech News, go to Sonicsoft Wired

Tuesday, January 1, 2008